Change Happens

This my new bumper sticker… CHANGE HAPPENS!!

I started a new job this week and it’s contained A LOT of change.  In the staff meeting we had this morning, our director used this quote…

When we change they way we look at things, the things we look at change. 

As I thought about that quote I realized it applied to many areas in my life… well to life in general.  For me the real change started four years ago when Jim and I starting thinking about having a family.  He was all about it… ready!  Me on the other hand, I wasn’t sure.  I’m a teacher… I work with kids all day long, how do I come home with enough left for my own kids.  It took me awhile to decide it was my turn to have kids.  That the first time this quote comes into play…

When we change they way we look at things, the things we look at change. 

When I decided it was my turn to have kids, my thinking about teaching changed.  I started thinking about what role school plays in the EVERYDAY lives of my students.  It changed my philosophy and teaching style.  I started to see the unneccessary pressure we put on our kids to be smarter, work harder, and learn more.  When really, the best way to learn is to do, play, think, and relax.  Since then my passion has been to TEACH CHILDREN TO LOVE LEARNING!!  If it didn’t involve loving learning, than it didn’t happen in my classroom.  Now, there were still LOTS of things we had to do that weren’t fun… but that didn’t mean it didn’t help my kids learn to love learning.  I got creative with things like assessments and tests.  That’s another time when this quote really hits home!

When we change they way we look at things, the things we look at change. 

Suddenly, education wasn’t about test scores and standards, for me it was about WHAT MY KIDS NEED to know in order to LOVE LEARNING!  Don’t get my wrong, it was all about the kids before this too, just more about the end results, not the process.  What a difference it makes when you start to think about the process of learning rather than what was learned!!  See…

When we change they way we look at things, the things we look at change. 

So then we got pregnant and Mercedes joined my world.  WHOA!!  Talk about changing the way you look at things.  EVERYTHING I looked at was different… the way the kitchen worked… the organization of my closet… the commute to work… the grocery list… the time I spent at school… the lessons I planned… the time I went to bed… what I ate… the list was/is endless!!  You can sum it all up in my outlook on life changed… 

What’s important?!?!  Work??  I’m a teacher… how is that not important?!?!?

What’s important?!?!  Jim??  He’s my partner and best friend… how is that not important?!?!?

What’s important?!?!  ME time??  seriously???… how is that not important?!?!?

What’s important?!?!  MY God??  Okay that’s a given… how is that not important?!?!?

What’s important?!?!  MY baby??  What?!?!  … how is that not important?!?!?

So again….

When we change they way we look at things, the things we look at change. 

Suddenly, this little person was in my care.  Not just for learning and education 8 hours a day… but FOR LIFE!!  How do you accomplish that?!?!?  How can I live up to that expectation?!?!?!  The answer was simple, my friends, YOU CAN’T!!  Not without God’s help.  So I changed the way I look at GOD!!  I started listening to the Bible on my way to work.  I started making time EVERYDAY to sing priase songs… even when I didn’t feel like.  I started parying before I ate… even if it was just in my head.  I started praying for the people that cut me off in traffic.  I started listening to K-LOVE and WAY-FM more often (I still need my country, but it’s not the first station I turn on anymore).  And what do you know….

When we change they way we look at things, the things we look at change. 

Change is uncomfortable.  Change is hard.  But change is GOOD!!  God is good!!  It’s all about the way you looks at things!! 

Look up instead of out!  Let go, Let God!  Don’t worry about tomorrow, God’s already there! 

Happy Friday!!

Leave a Reply

