Bouquet of Sharpened Pencils

Years ago I saw the movie, You’ve Got Mail.  It’s a cute movie about two book lovers who meet in a chat room and end up in a relationship.  (Sorry, ruined the ending).

Anyway, there are MANY reasons why I love this movie… Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan are outstanding together… it’s about books… it involves e-mail & computers… and it’s romantic.

Well, in the course of their corrsepondence the season changes to fall.  And Joe writes to Kathleen…

Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address….”

Ever since then I’ve always wanted to recieve a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils.  There’s something charming about that.  It says everything I love about fall in one little gesture.  🙂

Well, this year I decided I would send my own bouquet to my two favorite teachers… My Dad and my Sister.  Mercedes and I hand delivered them the day before school started.  Everyone knows pencils are a teachers best friend.  And you can never have too many best friends.  🙂

I will improve on the design next year.  It was so much fun!!  🙂  I think it will become a tradition.

 

 

Leave a Reply

