My Children

Hi – Daddy again here to share something that’s been on his mind since before Mercedes was born but just never got around to sharing.

In 2006 Three Cord Wonder released their final album, “The Jesus Rock Show.”  The final track titled “Etc.” is a 25+ minute montage of thank yous, song, and other zaniness.  As part of “Etc.”, a song is included that was written by the lead singer Joe and his wife about their daughter, Anna, before she was born.  The lyrics have stuck with me since the moment Mandy became pregnant with Mercedes and have resurfaced since the conception and loss of Baby Peek-A-Boo.  I didn’t realize how much love I had for our unborn child until Peek-A-Boo was gone and it gave me a glimpse into how much love I have for Mercedes.  I’m sharing this song here because it expresses the deep love I have and will always have for my children.  Thank you Joe and Three Cord Wonder for recording this beautiful song and thank you followers of this blog for listening to/putting up with a grieving Dad.  I love you very much Mercedes and Baby Peek-A-Boo!

Whoever you are little one

Whoever you will become

You already changed my heart

You already changed my world

Whoever you are little one

Whoever you will become

You’re already loved

Whoever you are

The knowledge of you

Has inspired me to do

All the things that I was once afraid of

God’s given me courage

And I’m taking all the risk

To be the man to which you can look up

Whoever you are little one

Whoever you will become

You already changed my heart

You already changed my world

Whoever you are little one

Whoever you will become

You’re already loved

Whoever you are

The world I now see through completely different eyes

I can’t wait to find out what you’re made of

Never before

Have I wanted more

To live out what is right

So you will see the light

Whoever you are little one

Whoever you will become

You already changed my heart

You already changed my world

Whoever you are little one

Whoever you will become

You’re already loved

Whoever you are

I loved you before you were born

I loved you before you existed yeah

I loved you before you were born

And now

Here you are

Whoever you are little one

Whoever you will become

You already changed my heart

You already changed my world

Whoever you are little one

Whoever you will become

You’re already loved

Whoever you are

You’re already loved

Whoever you are

One thought on “My Children

  1. What a beautiful song! I am so glad you shared it. As is always said ” you just don’t know love until you become a parent”! I love all of you so much and hurt for you too! And as a parent, I would like to take your pain away. Love, Mom/Joyce/Other Grandma

Leave a Reply

