Bedtime Prayers

Tis Dad again…typically every night when we tuck Mercedes into bed, we make sure that we say prayers, thanking God for many things.  The past few nights she has reminded me before we start praying to make sure we tell Jesus that we miss Baby Peek-a-Boo and that we love her and to please give her hugs and kisses for us.  What amazes me is we haven’t talked about Baby Peek-a-Boo lately but she still remembers her and prays for her.  Remember – to Mercedes Baby Peek-a-Boo was a girl, hence the “her.”  Even a couple weeks ago Mercedes told me she was sad about Baby Peek-a-Boo and it was because she missed her.  I explained that it was OK to be sad because Mommy and Daddy were sad too and missed Baby Peek-a-Boo.  See, while Mercedes is 3 1/2, she’s experienced her first big “loss” and she understands and is grieving in her own special way.  Being a father has opened my eyes to how much little kids really understand and experience…I’m amazed everyday by what she says and does.  It’s helped me realize to never discount anything she says.  Mercedes, I don’t know how I got so lucky to be chosen as your Daddy but I’m glad I did.  You teach me new things and help me see the world through a whole new lens.  Thank you for sharing with me your feelings and grieving with me.  I love you more than you will ever know.

Leave a Reply

