5 Things ~ Memorable People

5 Most Memorable People from My Past

In honor of those I haven’t seen or talked to in years!

1. Rusty ~ My boyfriend from high school.  He’s a cowboy.  He can dance (country).  We parted ways and I miss him.  We dated the year my gran’ma died of cancer.  Then through one of the worst years of my life, he was one of the few people who cared enough to know the real me.  We parted ways after high school, reconnected in college, but then lost touch again.  There’s a whole in my life, where he once stood.

2. CJ ~ My best friend from Elementary school.  SOOOOOO many of my childhood memories are connected to her.  MOST of the reason I am who I am is because of her. It’s because of her that I go to the county fair every year!  We drifted in high school… I went to the high school across town and life got busy.  But really, I’m horrible at keeping in touch.  My husband STILL talks to his childhood friends… what’s my problem?!?!?  I have convinced myself that they don’t have time for me, so I don’t make time for them.  Ridiculous I know!  But it’s the introverted, self conscience, shy, awkward, girl inside me that fills my head with lies.

3. James ~ How do I describe James???  My boyfriend (but we didn’t go anywhere… it was 5th grade)???  My best friend… he was a boy… that wasn’t cool when I was a kid.  He was the kid from down the street who came to my house to play basketball, because we were the only ones on the block with a hoop.  He was the one I always thought I’d marry.  Funny… I married a different James.

4. Denise ~ My dance teacher from back in the day.  We STILL talk about her.  She is actually the person who first called me a wet noodle.  Oh she had patience for me.  She taught me how to take constructive criticism.  She taught me that you’re never too old to do what you love.  She taught me how to dance!  I always wanted to be Denise when I grew up… hmmmmm…. maybe someday!

5. I could name A THOUSAND more.  Growing up in a “smallish” town, you get to know a lot of people.  My mom was born here too, so we know LOTS of people.  I think of people often.  Driving around town, I’ll remember something someone told me.  Looking at pictures, I’ll be transported back to that time or place.  I haven’t done this in a long time, but I used to sit for HOURS looking at my old yearbooks (we had them in junior high).  I stopped because it made me sad that I don’t talk to many of the people from my past much anymore.  It’s one of the reasons I LOVE facebook.  I can reconnect with friends from back in the day even though we’re miles apart.  I have friends who live on the other side of world and those that live right here in town.  I love that I can check in on them, “meet” their families, and spend some “time” with them.  I hope they enjoy doing the same with me.

********************************************************

Join me and participate in the Tuesday Listable Life post.

Check out the other Listable Life Posts here. . .

One thought on “5 Things ~ Memorable People

  1. Such a great list! Truly I wasn’t brave enough to tackle this topic…. because I feed sadness too about all of the people that I have allowed to pass in and out of my life. Friends from school days, friends from college, even friends for old jobs.

    Thanks for linking up to Listable Life!

Leave a Reply

